Login |  Register |  help

Connetquot Football Receives Scholar/Athlete Team Award and the Sportsmanship Award

Posted Wednesday, December 10, 2008 by Michael Konsevitch

The Long Island Champion Thunderbirds have received two extremely special awards. The Connetquot Football Team has won the Suffolk County Division I Sportsmanship Award. This award is given to the team that displays the best sportsmanship throughout the entire season. After each game, the opposing coaches rate a team's players and coaches with a sportsmanship rating and it is totaled at the end of the season. Of the 14 teams in Division I, Connetquot was voted as the top team. Outstanding job to all the players, coaches, and our Athletic Director, Mary Lou Assante, for an unbelievable honor.

The Varsity Football Team has, also, received the New York State Scholar/Athlete Team Award. The Thunderbirds had 20 players that had a 90 or better average for the first quarter of school. Unheard of! All of the players on our squad should feel very proud of this achievement. They all are doing a great job with their academics. Congratulations! The following is a list of the 20 players who finished the first quarter with a 90 or better overall average.

-Brandon Carnevale
-Chris Dale
-Matt Farnworth
-Ross Grynko
-Kevin Jadick
-Chris Kampel
-Ryan Lanigan
-Jeremy Leggiero
-Sean Malone
-Kevin McHale
-Brian McIlvain
-Tommy McInerney
-DJ Pamlanye
-Joe Pellegrino
-Gregg Sarra
-John Smith
-Zach Sterling
-Jon Sternbach
-Rob Stroh
-David Tetlak

This page was created in 0.1406 seconds on server 132